Category Codes and Sets

Category codes are used as naming conventions for assets by creating classes and subclasses. They are user defined, and used to logically group assets, simplifying the search for Maintained Numbers.
For example, Cranes can be classified by several different types, such as Overhead Cranes, Jib Cranes, and Mobile Cranes. You can query using the class CRANE, which will display all assets defined as Cranes within that organization. If you enter
CRANES.JIB, the system would then narrow the results to just those assets defined as Jib Cranes. With both queries, you can identify assets based on familiar names, rather than numbers.

Category codes are first defined, then added to the Enterprise Asset Management Category Set. After they belong to this category set, they can be associated with Maintained Groups, which tie to individual assets.

To set up Category Codes:

1. Navigate to the Find Categories window. You can find existing category codes, or create new ones.
2. Choose New.
3. Select the Asset Management category to create a new Class.Subclass from the Structure Name list of values.
4. Enter in a new Category, for example TRUCK.FRKLFT.
5. Add a long Description for this category.
6. Optionally, select the Enabled check box to indicate that this category is enabled.
7. Optionally, enter an Inactive On date.
8. Optionally, select the Enabled for iProcurement check box to indicate that this category is enabled for iProcurement.
9. Optionally, select the Viewable by Supplier check box to indicate that this category can be viewed by the Supplier.
10. Save your work.

To set up Category Sets:

To associate Category Codes (TRUCK.FRKLFT) with a Maintained Group, you must first define the item category relationship through the Category Sets menu option.
1. Navigate to the Category Sets window.
2. Select the flashlight icon from the tools menu, then select Enterprise Asset Management from the list of values.
3. A description is defaulted, but you can optionally change it.
4. Select Asset Management from the Flex Structure list of values.
5. Indicate the Controlled At level. Valid values are Master Level, and Organization Level.
6. Enter a Default Category code for assets that are not associated with Maintained Groups.
7. If you select Allow Multiple Item Category Assignments, you can define a series of categories, such as Crane.Jib, and Crane.Overhead, that can be associated to a single Asset Group.
8. If you select Enforce List of Valid Categories, you will prevent users from entering incorrect categories that are not associated with the Asset Group associated with the asset being created.
9. Enter the Category Codes that you want to associate with this category set.
10. Select Assign to display a table enabling you to associate the categories with a Maintained Group.
11. Save your work.

Defining Default Category Sets

When you install Oracle Inventory, you must assign a default category set to each of the following functional areas: Inventory, Purchasing, Order Management, Costing, Engineering, and Planning. Product Line Accounting is seeded with the Inventory category set. Inventory makes the default category set mandatory for all items defined for use by a functional area. If your item is enabled for a particular functional area you cannot delete the item's corresponding default category set assignment. Default category sets are required so that each functional area has at least one category set that contains all items in that functional area.

You can enable an item for each functional area by using that functional area's item defining attribute. An item defining attribute identifies the nature of an item. For example, what designates an item as an "engineering item" is the attribute Engineering Item. If a functional area's item defining attribute is controlled at the Organization level, then that functional area may only have an Organization level default category set.

You set the item defining attribute when you define the item. The following table presents item defining attributes:

When you enable an item for a certain functional area, Oracle Inventory automatically assigns the item to the default category set of that functional area and the default category of that set. For example, if you set Inventory Item to Yes, then Inventory automatically assigns the item to the Inventory functional area's default category set and default category.

You may change a functional area's default category set under certain conditions. You should ensure that every item within the functional area belongs to the new default category set (which replaces the existing default category set). If the item defining attribute of the functional area is controlled at the Organization level then the new default category set should also be controlled at the Organization level.

Oracle Applications Fusion Cloud - Inventory

Oracle Cloud/Fusion Procurement training will help you develop the fundamental skills required to set up and use the Procurement module. This training covers all the tasks, setups, forms and reports used in Procurement and related modules